Six names emerge for the slot of Chairman NAB

Six names emerge for the slot of Chairman NAB

ISLAMABAD - After a third meeting between the Prime Minister and the opposition leader in the connection of Chairman NAB appointment, Leader of Opposition Syed Khurshid Shah informed the media that three names each from the Prime Minister and his side were put on the table and formal discussion on the qualifications of each candidate came under discussion.

He informed that from the government side the names of incumbent Director General Intelligence Bureau Aftab Sultan, Justice (Retd) Rehmat Jaferi and Justice (Retd) Ch Ejaz were given while from the Opposition Leader’s side the names of Justice (Retd) Faqir Mohammad Khokhar, Justice (Retd) Javid Iqbal and former secretary Election Commission of Pakistan Ishtiaq Ahmad were put on the table.

Sources in the ruling PML-N informed that the government wanted to get sitting DG IB Aftab Sultan as new chairman NAB because of his closeness with Sharif family.

The fellow landed in controversy when he had flown out to London for meeting Nawaz Sharif a few days back and opposition parties came up with scathing criticism on his act of meeting with the disqualified premier.

It was the third interaction between the Leader of House and Leader of Opposition for evolving consensus on some common person to be appointed as chairman NAB for next four years.

Under the NAB Ordinance meaningful consultation between the Leader of Opposition and the Prime Minister is mandatory for the appointment of new chairman and the law was silent in case both the of them fail to evolve consensus on anyone of the list of three.

Sources said that in case both Syed Khurshid Shah and Shahid Khaqan Abbasi could not evolve consensus on anyone of the above six names they could add new names in the list for evolving consensus on it.