Who is going to be the new Chairman Senate? SURPRISE

Who is going to be the new Chairman Senate? SURPRISE

*KARACHI: Reports have surfaced that PML- N may support the PPP Candidate Raza Rabbani for the slot of Chairman Senate. *

*Raza Rabbani is the current Chairman Senate hailing from PPP and his support from PML N carries significant meaning for General Elections 2018. *

*Has PPP and PML N have patched up. *

*Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) backed independent candidates bagged 15 seats across the country in the Senate elections held over 52 vacant seats on Saturday*.

However PML N Claim support of over 43 Senators through old and New alliances.

PML-N-backed independent candidates secured 11 of 12 seats from the Punjab Assembly, bagged another two seats from federal capital and two more from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

“PMLN now the single largest party in Senate as well, Masha’Allah,” tweeted deposed PM Nawaz Sharif’s daughter, Maryam Nawaz.

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) won 12 seats in total with 10 from Sindh province, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) managed to win a total of six seats.

PML-N backed independent candidate Mushahid Hussain Syed secured 223 votes for Senate’s technocrat seat from the federal capital against Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) candidate Raja Shakeel, who bagged 68 votes from the members of National Assembly.

Asad Junejo, having backing of PML-N, won the second seat for Islamabad after receiving 214 votes against 32 votes to Imran Ashraf and Kanwal Shozab respectively.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had declared the PML-N Senate candidates as independent in the aftermath of the Supreme Court of Pakistan’s ruling over the petitions challenging the Election Act 2017, which removed former prime minister Nawaz Sharif as the party president.