Senate Election:11 PML-N supported candidates win from Punjab

Senate Election:11 PML-N supported candidates win from Punjab

ISLAMABAD:PML-N supported candidates won majority seats from Centre and Punjab in the Senate elections for fifty-two vacant seats. 

According to unofficial and provisional results, PML (N) supported candidates have won both the Senate seats from the Federal Capital Territory.

Mushahid Hussain Syed, supported by PML-N, has been elected as Senator against a technocrat seat, securing 223 votes. He was followed by Raja Muhammad Shakil Abbasi of Pakistan Peoples Party with 64 votes.

Asad Ali Khan Junejo, backed by PML-N, won the general seat from Islamabad getting 214 votes. He was followed by Raja Imran Ashraf of Pakistan Peoples Party with 45 votes.

Kanwal Shauzab of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaaf grabbed 32 votes. Nine votes were rejected on technical grounds.

Hidayatullah, Shamim Afridi, Hilalur Rehman and Mirza Muhammad Afridi have been elected as Senators against four FATA seats. Each of them secured seven votes. Out of eleven MNAs from FATA, eight cast their votes in polling today to the elect four Senators.

In Punjab, eleven PML (N) supported candidates have been elected Senators.

The winning candidates are Dr. Asif Kirmani, Dr. Musaddiq Malik, Haroon Akhtar, Rana Maqbool, Shaheen Butt and Zubair Gul against general seats; Ishaq Dar and Hafiz Abdul Karim against two technocrat seats and Saadia Abbasi and Nuzhat Sadiq against two seats reserved for women.

PML(N) supported Kamran Michael has been elected against the seat reserved for minorities. PTI's Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar has also been elected on general seat.

In Sindh ten Senators of PPP have been elected while a candidate of Pakistan Muslim League (F) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (Pak) have also been elected.

According to detail, five Senators including Raza Rabbani of PPP, former law Minister Moula Bux Chandio, Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar, Muhammad Ali Shah Jamot have been elected for general seats while MQM Farogh Naseem and Muzaffar Hussain Shah PML(F) have also been elected for general seats.

Quratul Ain Mari and Krishna Kholi have been elected on women, Dr. Sikandar Mahindro and Rukhsana Zubairi on technocrats and Anwar Lal Dean on reserved seats for minority.

In Balochistan, mostly independent candidates have won on eleven Senate seats. They are Anwar-ul- Haq Kakar, Ahmed Khan, Sadiq Sanjri , Kauda Babar Askani and Sardar Shafiq Tareen. Muhammad Akram of National Party and Molvi Faiz Muhammad of JUI (F) have also been declared as successful candidates.

Similarly, Tahir Bizenjo has won the election from the platform of National Party while Naseebullah Bazai has won the election in independent capacity. Likewise, Sana Jamali won her seat in an independent capacity while another woman candidate Abida Muhammad Azeem of Pakhtoon Kuwa Milli Awami Party has also been elected for the senate.

And in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf won three seats. The winners include Faisal Javed on General, Mehr Taj Roghani on Women and Azam Swati on Technocrat seats. Pakistan People's Party won two seats, it includes Bahramand Tangi on General and Robina Khalid on Women seats.

Similarly, Independent candidates Pir Sabir Shah succeeded on General while Dilawar Khan on technocrat seats. Talha Mehmood of JUI(F) also won on General seat. Counting for three remaining Senate General seats in KPK is in progress.