Pakistan Foreign Office official response to the US Entry ban surfaces


“It is every country’s sovereign right to decide its immigration policy,” FO spokesman Nafees Zakaria said at his weekly media briefing while answering a question about the travel restrictions imposed by US President Donald Trump through an executive order on people from seven Muslim countries — Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

It was the first official reaction to President Trump’s directive that riled Muslim communities.

Mr Trump’s decision has been widely condemned. It is facing legal challenge within the United States and experts believe that it also contravenes international law.

The FO’s acknowledgement of the American right to regulate immigration looked to closely echo some Arab countries that voiced support for the ban.

The spokesman, however, asked the US administration to consider “huma-nitarian and political dimensions” of the decision.

More from this category