PP-78 Jhang by elections result


JHANG, Dec 01 (APP): Independent candidate Maulana Masroor Nawaz Jhangvi has won by-election of PP-78 constituency held here Thursday.

According to unofficial results, Maulana Masroor Nawaz Jhangvi got 48,562 votes and won the by-election while the PML-N candidate Haji Azad Nasir Ansari secured 35,469 votes, Sarfraz Rabbani of PPP got 3,671 votes, Sh. Arfa Majeed of PTI bagged 2,820 votes and Nasim Qadri of PAT got 798 votes.

As many as 25 candidates contested the election. Polling started at 8 am and continued till 5 pm without any interval. Polling remained peaceful and no any untoward incident was reported. Election Commission had deputed the Pak Army and Rangers for security.

There were 216,562 toal voters in the constituency, out of which 118,627 were male and 97,935 female voters. As many as 171 polling stations were set up, out of which 17 were declared most sensitive.

Commissioner Faisalabad Division Momin Agha, Regional Police Officer Faisalabad Bilal Siddiq Kamiana, DCO Jhang Ghazi Amanullah, DPO Jhang Hamayon Masood Sindho and other officers visited different polling stations to review the polling process.