Three Pakistanis selected for ICC test team of the year

DUBAI: Leg-spinner Yasir Shah, right-hand batsman Younus Khan and wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfarz Ahmed are representing Pakistan in the Test team of the year. Alastair Cook has been named as the captain of the side that includes three Englishmen Stuart Broad and Joe Root. This is the fifth time since 2009 that Broad has been selected in the ICC Test Team of the Year having previously been included in 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2014. For Cook, this is his fourth selection and his second as captain having achieved that feat in 2013. Steven Smith is one of three Australian players selected alongside opener David Warner, for the second successive year, and pace bowler Josh Hazlewood. There are also three Pakistan players in the panel; Younis Khan, wicket-keeper Sarfraz Ahmed and leg-spinner Yasir Shah. New Zealand duo Trent Boult and Kane Williamson make up the starting team, with India’s Ravichandran Ashwin named as 12th man. (icc-cricket)