Dr Asad Ashraf of PML N elected as Senator

Dr Asad Ashraf of PML N elected as Senator

LAHORE – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Dr Asad Ashraf won the Senate by-poll over the Punjab seat that was vacated after dismissal of Nehal Hashmi.

Ashraf took 298 votes in Punjab Assembly and easily defeated the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Dr Zarqa who only managed to get 38 votes from the provincial lawmakers.

Out of the 368 seats in the provincial assembly, votes were casted by only 346 members. The 300 legislators of PML-N casted their votes while other nine remained absent with two vote rejected.

Eight MNAs belonging to Pakistan Peoples Party did not come to cast their votes. A total of 12 votes were rejected in the Senate by-poll. ------------------------------ ------------------------------

Maryam Nawaz congratulated the winning candidate on Twitter and criticised those who claimed of a split in the party.